The foothills of the Santa Catalina Mountains

Facebook icon YouTube Icon Threads Icon Instagram icon

English Language Arts

The Catalina Foothills School District (CFSD) is committed to providing effective and evidence-based K-12 literacy instruction. The English Language Arts (ELA) Standards, which are the focus of a strong core literacy program, define the knowledge, understanding, and skills that all students need to be ready to succeed in college, careers, and life. The standards are aligned to Arizona's English Language Arts Standards and work together in a clear progression from kindergarten through 12th grade. Students are actively engaged in the processes of reading, writing, speaking, listening, language use, and vocabulary. Although the standards are divided into separate strands for conceptual clarity, the processes of communication are closely connected. As students advance through the grades and master the standards, they are able to exhibit with increasing depth and consistency, the following capacities of a literate individual:

  • Academic independence
  • Strong content knowledge
  • Varying demands of audience, task, purpose, and discipline
  • Comprehension as well as critique
  • Strategic and capable use of technology and digital media
  • Understanding of others' perspectives and cultures

The scope of the English language arts extends beyond the ELA classroom. All disciplines have recognized the importance of literacy to their own subject areas as the vehicle through which important content learning occurs. Each of these subject areas has its own required set of standards, specifying the content knowledge and skills in that area. The ELA standards are designed to connect with and support learning the standards of other content areas. Proficient use of the English language enables students to explore and articulate the complex issues and ideas encountered in public and personal life.

Introduction to the English Language Arts