

Catalina Foothills Unified School District #16 2101 E. River Road, Tucson, AZ 85718 (520) 209-7500 (520) 209-7570 FAX www.cfsd16.org

BOARD AGENDA ITEM

ITEM NO: 1.4

BOARD MEETING DATE: Tuesday, March 12, 2024

OPENING ITEM: Outstanding Achievements

SUBMITTED BY: Mary Kamerzell, Superintendent

PRESENTED BY: Mary Kamerzell, Superintendent

I am pleased to highlight the following CFSD student and staff achievements:

Girls State

CFHS Juniors Samantha Farbarik and Emma Lindsay were selected for the 2024 Arizona Girls State. Heloise Declercq and Maxine Polson are alternated. Girls State is sponsored by the American Legion Auxiliary which educates young women in the duties, privileges, rights, and responsibilities of U.S. citizenship.

Regional Honor Choir, Band, and Orchestra Winds

Twenty-four CFHS students were selected for the Arizona Music Educators Association (AMEA) Regional Honor Choir. Sopranos - Jackie Foley, Izy Garcia, Sakari Hamamoto, Haleith Hinkle, Julia Jonas, and Siena Mayfield; Altos - Meryl Abdelmessieh, Mariah Coats, Isabella Gamas Collazo, Sagelynn Dundas, Aisha Gereau, and Andy Marie; Tenors - Sebastian Mehl-Dominguez, Andrew Peterson, Zah Pittner, Luis Urtaza, and Hayden Vigilia; Basses - Carter Ferrell, Fox Foster, Anderson Peters, Jaden Peterson, Marcos Reyes-Escudero. The director of choirs is Jeffrey Evans.

Sixty-Eight band students were selected for the AMEA Regional Honor Band and Regional Honor Orchestra Winds. Honor Band - Nathan Adler, Mareliss Alvarez, Kai Asbill, Ethan Beckett, Ethan Blakely, Jacob Braitberg, Yash Chauhan, Landon Cione, Siena Davoli-Boen, Heloise Declercq, Jesse DeLong,

Nathan Green, Jonathan Hanson, Zachary Henson, Xiaowen Kang, Eli Leviton, Madeline Lister, William Liu, Eric Lu, Jackson Metzger, Antonio Padilla, Logan Peck, Colten Quackenbush, Madeleine Reed, Keenan Sammani, Nathan Schlosser, Grace Seo, Amy Sternberg, Sofie Thorn, Vito Toapha, Oliver Ward, Zechariah Wright, and Bryan Zhang; Honor Orchestra Winds - Katie Beach, Scarlett Bolton, Jet Bolton, Orsi Brown, Taylor Brown, Isabella Campa, Camilla Castro, Shelby Giachetti, Connor Gillespie, Benjy Grandner, Saki Grobe, Matthew Hanson, Mason Hashim, Zoey Hinson, Sean Hull, Titus Kim, Steven Klestadt, Nicolas Lawrence, Isaac Leviton, Lucas Litteer, Sage Newcomb, Anna Nielsen, Sara Nielsen, Felisberto Pondeca, Jessica Roudebush, Isabella Samaniego, Jess Steele, Tyler Tom-Lin, Tyler Tosca, Caleb Vanderford, Ruby Wray, Zac Young, Michael Zacarias, and Angelina Zhang. Renee Shane-Boyd is Director of Bands, with Assistant Director of Bands Thomas Gerald and Director of Percussion/Steel Drums Tina Walton.

Chinese Speech Contest

Eleven Sunrise Drive students placed in the Chinese Language Teachers Association speech contest. Division A (Heritage) - Ruiyang Situ, 1st place; Ming Hsiu Reid, 3rd place; Julian Moraff, 3rd place; Division A (Non Heritage) - Eva Sofia Blanco Vietor, 2nd place; Brian Wu, 3rd place; Dash Wood, 3rd place; Division B (Heritage) - Lillian Moraff, 1st place; Ace Chou, 2nd place; Jonathan Parson, 3rd place; Myra Peng, 3rd place; Division B (Non Heritage) - Beatrice Barbieri, 2nd place. Their teacher coach is Siyi Chen.

Hispanic Heritage Foundation Youth Awards

Three CFHS seniors were chosen for the Hispanic Heritage Foundation Youth Awards. The Youth Awards honors Latino high school seniors who excel in the classroom and community and for their excellence in various categories including Community Service, Education, Engineering, Entrepreneurship & Business, Green Sustainability, Healthcare & Science, Media & Entertainment, Public Service & Social Justice, and Technology.

Our Award winners are Anissa Madrid, Gold, Public Service & Social Justice; Seth Rojas, Silver, Technology; and Ilana Valenzuela, Bronze, Technology. It is an extraordinary honor to have three award winners from one school.

Gold, Silver, and Bronze award recipients are selected in each category and receive a one-time grant to fund their college education or to fund a community service effort that tackles a social issue.

CFHS FIRST Tech Challenge

Pioneer Robotics won the MOTIVATE Award at state competition on February 17, which recognized their inspiring passion for FIRST robotics and their ability to ignite that same enthusiasm in others. In addition, the team received the *Finalis Alliance Award* for reaching the division finals in the Robot Game and having one of the highest scores of the day.

The Pioneers who participated in the state championship are Estaban Aguirre, Elyse Ardolina, Henry Bonomolo, Owen Cantor-Goldner, Braeden Gracy, Zakary Gruber, Ethan Lin, Kyle Lo, Isaak Martin, Dale Nelson, Christian Pierson, Seth Rojas, Cole Warnock, Nathan Wu, and Aiden Zhou. Their coaches are Charlotte Ackerman and San Kunzeman (Caterpillar). Mentors are Jackson Tint, Josh Tint, Lukas Gruber (Leonardo, Inc.), James Wang (Texas Instruments), and Jack Lo (RTX).

National Merit Scholarship Program

Congratulations to CFHS Seniors Ethan Blakely, Matalyn Hall, and Luke Sadalla who were named 2024 National Merit Scholarship Finalists.

Theatre Arts

Congratulations to CFHS Intermediate Theatre Arts students Owen Cantor-Goldner and Louisa Stine who were selected as finalists to participate in the regional Shakespeare competition at the University of Arizona.

<u>Art</u>

Three CFHS Art students were selected by the Arizona Art Education Association for a special exhibit at the Western Spirit Museum – Scottsdale's Museum of the West. They are Ellen Kim, Reuben Martinez, and Makena Thompson. Their work will be displayed from March 17-31. Their teacher is Zoe Reinhardt.

DECA

Ten CFHS DECA students competed at State. Five are going on to the International Center Development Conference. Aiden Amado and Andrew King placed second in Arizona for Sports and Entertainment Marketing Team Decision Making. Zachary Wagenheim placed fifth in Arizona for Automotive Services Marketing. Jacob Bergthold, Anissa Madrid, and Sophia Mallino received medals for their finishes among the top ten finalists in their events, and Jaoquin Islas and Lexcea King both competed at the finalist level as well. Their sponsor is CFHS Teacher Jason Reinhardt.

Orchestra

Our three CFHS orchestras performed well at the Arizona Band and Orchestra Directors Association's (ABODA) Area Concert Festival at Gilbert High School on March 5. The Symphonic Strings earned a Superior with Distinction rating. The Sinfonia earned a Superior rating. The Concert Orchestra earned an Excellent rating. Their director is Ryan Watson.

Esperero Band

The ECMS band also performed well at an ABODA Festival on March 2. The Intermediate Band received a rating of Excellent. Seventh Grade Band received a rating of Superior with Distinction. Eighth Grade Band also received a Superior with Distinction rating. Their director is Cory Walavich.

Recommended Motion: Information Item