

# Catalina Foothills Unified School District #16 2101 E. River Road, Tucson, AZ 85718 (520) 209-7500 (520) 209-7570 FAX www.cfsd16.org

#### **BOARD AGENDA ITEM**

**ITEM NO:** 1.4

**BOARD MEETING DATE:** Tuesday, January 9, 2024

**OPENING ITEM:** Outstanding Achievements

SUBMITTED BY: Mary Kamerzell, Superintendent

PRESENTED BY: Mary Kamerzell, Superintendent

I am pleased to highlight the following CFSD student and staff achievements:

#### Esperero Canyon Middle School 8th Grade Boys Basketball

The ECMS boys' 8th grade basketball team are the Northwest League Champions. They capped off a 13-1 record by avenging their only loss on the season to Wilson K-8 in the championship game. Down by 5 in overtime, with :30 second remaining, ECMS found a way to claw back, hitting a 3-point shot with less than :10 second remaining to win the game. They did after stealing Wilson's inbound pass and hitting a game winning shot just as the buzzer sounded. Team members are Lincoln Dalesandro, Eden Egginton, Dylan Erickson, Aden Greenberg, Vincent Merheb, Matthew Moukabary, Eli Murphey, Chase Schild, William Shoemaker, Chance Storie, Ford Swanson, Amare Thomas, Joseph Towe, and Payson Woolley. Their coach is Aaron Ravenell.

## Orange Grove Middle School Science Olympiad Team

On December 12, the OGMS Atoms scored first place overall at the Science Olympiad competition hosted by Estrella Mountain. Congratulations to all competitors! The team members are Alexa Amer, Julia Ellis, Zack Hadeli, James Jacobsen, Ainsley Johnson, Daniel Lu, MJ McLamarrah, Ashlynn Phillips, Enoch Rogers, Syver Rustad, Hailey Sircy, and Brynn Wright-Smith. Ms. Melinda Skinner is the coach of Science Olympiad.

The Atoms will be split into two teams next quarter, so they will be the Atoms and the Isotopes for their next competition in January.

### Catalina Foothills High School (CFHS) Robotics

At the FIRST Tech Challenge AZ Diamondback Tucson Qualifier on December 16, the CFHS Pioneer Robotics team earned two awards in recognition of the team's overall excellence and gracious professionalism: 1) The team took home second place in the Inspire Award (the tournament's top award) and 2) they won first place in the Motivate Award. As the tournament's second-place finisher, they were one of four teams that will advance to State.

Congratulations to CFHS students Elyse Ardolino, Henry Bonomolo, Owen Cantor-Goldner, Braeden Gracy, Zak Gruber, Ethan Lin, Kyle Lo, Isaak Martin, Dale Nelson, Milo Peters, Christian Pierson, Seth Rojas, Cole Warnock, Nathan Wu, Aiden Zhou, Aiden Chang (Alternate), and Juan Esteban Aguirre (Alternate). Pioneer Robotics is coached by Charlotte Ackerman and San Kunzeman (Caterpillar). Mentors include Jackson Tint, Josh Tint, Lukas Gruber (Leonardo, Inc), James Wang of Texas Instruments, and Jack Lo of RTX.

**Recommended Motion: Information Item**