

Catalina Foothills Unified School District #16 2101 E. River Road, Tucson, AZ 85718 (520) 209-7500 (520) 209-7570 FAX www.cfsd16.org

BOARD AGENDA ITEM

ITEM NO: 3.4

BOARD MEETING DATE: Tuesday, March 9, 2021

OPENING ITEM: Outstanding Achievements

SUBMITTED BY: Margie Jones, Administrative Assistant

PRESENTED BY: Mary Kamerzell, Superintendent

I am pleased to highlight the following CFSD student and staff achievements:

Arizona Music Educators Association (AMEA) Regional Honor Band

The following high school musicians were selected for the 2021 AMEA Regional Honor Band. This is the largest number from any high school in the state. Their director, Renee Shane-Boyd commented, "they are to be commended not only for the skill they have developed that allowed them to be selected, but their resilience in auditioning in this unusual time."

Piccolo – Emma Rowe; Flute – Gabby Ames, Olivia Baumann, Evangeline Cumming, Siena Davoli-Boen, Rohini Ghosh, Joseph Han, Claire Kross, Erin O'Rourke, Ella Pemberton, Emma Rowe, Noah Wellman; Oboe - Jonathan Clements, Connor Fitzgerald, Matthew Jacobs, Claire Kross; English Horn -Matthew Jacobs; Bassoon - Zachary Cramton, Wyatt Jackson, Eli Lefkowitz; Bb Clarinet - Kyle Cagno, Braden Cantor-Goldner, Nastacia Carter, Nina Cox, Megan Garland, Julia Hejl, Miranda Henderson, Adelynn Jensen, Anna Kang, Steven Klestadt, Audrey Lister, Lorenzo Mars, Dillon Peng, Amelia Prucinsky, Zach Russell, Kulindu Vithanachchi; Bass Clarinet – Jasmine Junker, Ben Wallace; Alto Saxophone - Alex Choi, Margot Nicholson, Andrew Smith, Daniel Sutherland; Tenor Saxophone – Joshua Raposo; Baritone Saxophone – Aidan Gee; Cornet/Trumpet - Will Ames, Megan Bime, Ian Britanik, Jeremy Bryant, Connor Cagno, Sevren Jackson, Sara Lessie, Winston Reese; French Horn -Ethan Dai, Aditi Ghosh, Matthew Hashim; Trombone - Shaurya Chauhan, Gavyn Epstein, Spencer Jacobs, Robby Pawloski, Hannah Seo; Euphonium BC – John Evans, Will Grobe, Andrew Lister; Tuba – Max Chaffee, Diego Jaquez, Elijah Leviton; **Percussion** – Max Burrows, Anna Davis, Camille DeWilde, Logan Douglas, Avalon Garrett, Tyler Kebo, Mignon King, Lucy McLaughlin.

AMEA Regional Honor Choir

The following high school vocalists were selected for the 2021 AMEA Regional Honor Choir: Alexander Aguilar, Pierre Aoun, Jean Paul Aoun, Romit Banerjee, Chloe Bell, Morgan Hinkle, Tristan Holmes, Rene Navarro, Shawna Parsa, and Carolyn Zhao. Their choral director is Jeffrey Evans.

2021 U.S. Senate Youth Program

CFHS student Nathaniel David Mehmert Cross was selected as one of two students representing the state of Arizona at the 2021 U.S. Senate Youth Program to be held March 14-17. He will be one of the 104 national student delegation and will receive a \$10,000 college scholarship for undergraduate study.

Robotics

Three (3) CFSD Community Schools' FIRST Lego League (FLL) teams won top awards at a recent Tucson regional tournament with 24 teams competing from around the state. They will advance to state competition. **Innovation Award** – **Team 5151**: Madison Chiem (SD), Simon Crawford (SD), Audrey Dessent (SD), Warren Moore (SD), Nicholas Pickard (OG), and Aiden Zhou (OG); **Robot Design Award** – **5155**: Estaban Aguirre (OG), Sa'id Badereen (former OG student), Connor Belakovsky (EC), Landon Chang (OG), Braeden Gracy (OG), and Zac Young (OG). **Motivate Award** – **5153**: EC students Owen Cantor-Goldner, Ethan Lin, Anthony Milo, and Christian Pierson. The theme for this year's robotics missions and research challenge is physical activity. The teams are charged with finding ways to address the problem of inactivity, which has serious mental, physical and emotional health consequences. Their coach is Charlotte Ackerman, STEM Integration Specialist, with the assistance of volunteer coaches Mark Haye, Jenny Dessent, and Jesse Barrios. CFHS alum Nik Gruber refereed all of the robot matches that had to be filmed for submission.

A community team, The Couch Beaters, qualified for FLL state competition. Team members are Ethan Bialis (EC), Zeke Bialis (VV), Arianna DuPont (EC), Siena Mayfield (EC), and Sergius Sakali (VV). Their coach is CFSD teacher and parent Tiffanie Bialis.

Elementary Math League

Community Schools has offered a Math League enrichment club in which students from all four CFSD elementary schools participate. Club members earned 1st places in the 3rd, 4th, and 5th grade groups in the Math League competition, the 6th qualifying round for Arizona. Jayden Yao earned overall first place in Arizona.

The district championship on April 11 because a qualifying round based on mathleague.org. Eight (8) of our students who qualified for the district championship now qualify for the state championship in May. Their Math League coach is Ning Hao.

U.S. Presidential Scholars Program

CFHS senior Ty R. Pham-Swann has been nominated as a U.S. Presidential Scholar. There are 103 nominees representing Arizona in this year's candidate pool. The Program was established in 1964, by executive order of the President, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors. Up to 161 students are named as Presidential Scholars each year.