

Catalina Foothills Unified School District #16 2101 E. River Road, Tucson, AZ 85718

(520) 209-7500

(520) 209-7570 FAX

www.cfsd16.org

BOARD AGENDA ITEM

ITEM NO: 1.4

BOARD MEETING DATE: Tuesday, October 19, 2021

OPENING ITEM: Outstanding Achievements

SUBMITTED BY: Margie Jones, Administrative Assistant

PRESENTED BY: Mary Kamerzell, Superintendent

I am pleased to highlight the following CFSD student and board member achievements:

National Merit Scholarship Program

Eight of our seniors have been identified as semifinalists in this year's National Merit Scholarship Program. Semifinalists are the highest-scoring PSAT program entrants in each state and represent the top 0.5 percent of each state's senior students.

Comparatively, our Class of 2022 boasts 2.8% of Arizona's 283 National Merit Scholars. Semifinalists may go on to apply for Finalist status and potentially win a National Merit Scholarship.

Our CFHS semifinalists: Nathaniel Cross, Hassan Dahshan, Aditi Ghosh, Rohini Ghosh, Alexey Pivniouk, Noah Wellman, Samuel Xie, and Alexandra Zega.

The Class of 2021 has set a new CFHS record with 18 students recognized as Commended Scholars who are in the top 3-4% of scorers on the PSAT.

Our Commended Scholars: Jean Paul Aoun, Sandeep Bandlamuri, Megan Bime, Madeline Blakely, Madison Bonomolo, Maria Cazzata, Bhargav Ghosh, Emily Gruber, Payton Hall, Dylan Hellbusch, Jake Jump, Jonathan Martinez, Ava Pritz,

Deniz Psaltis, Theodore Quilter, Nathan Tankesly, Grant Thompson, and Diya Tuli.

Falcon Marching Band

The CFHS marching band received 1st place at the Sabino High School Marching Band Invitational on Saturday, October 2. The band had the overall highest score of the day and received caption awards in the areas of Visual Performance, Music performance, Percussion, and General Effect.

This year's show, *The Steadfast Tin Soldier*, is the band's first full marching performance and festival in two years.

And, on October 9, the marching band won first place at NAU Band Day.

Governing Board Development

Board Member Eileen Jackson was recognized at the Arizona School Boards Association (ASBA) Pima County meeting with ASBA's Copper Award. She achieved 150 hours of professional development in boardsmanship.

Recommended Motion: Information Item