

Catalina Foothills Unified School District #16 2101 E. River Road, Tucson, AZ 85718

(520) 209-7500 (520) 209-7570 FAX

www.cfsd16.org

BOARD AGENDA ITEM

ITEM NO: 1.4

BOARD MEETING DATE: Tuesday, December 14, 2021

OPENING ITEM: Outstanding Achievements

SUBMITTED BY: Margie Jones, Administrative Assistant

PRESENTED BY: Mary Kamerzell, Superintendent

I am pleased to highlight the following CFSD student and staff achievements:

Flinn Scholarship

Seniors Nathaniel Cross, Dylan Hellbusch, and Noah Wellman have been named 2022 Flinn Scholarship Semifinalists, advancing them in a process toward Arizona's most prestigious merit-based scholarship. The 80 semifinalists were selected from a record total of nearly 1,100 applications representing schools throughout Arizona.

Coca-Cola Scholarship

Senior Jonathan Martinez has been named a 2022 Coca-Cola Scholar Semifinalist. He is among 1,617 students who were selected from over 68,000 applicants from across the country based on his academic excellence, leadership, and service demonstrated in school and community activities. Ultimately, 150 will become Coca-Cola Scholars and receive a \$20,000 college scholarship.

<u>Thespians</u>

CFSD theatre students attended the Arizona Thespian Festival on November 19. Gezana Procopio and Alexandra Zega took home 1st and 2nd place in the Tech Challenge Light Hanging event. Alexandra Zega was also awarded a Thespian scholarship of \$1,500.

Certificate of Valor

Gianna Celi, Esperero student, was recognized for Valorous Conduct by the Tucson Police Department's Chief of Police, Chris Magnus. The award read: "For your exceptional bravery and presence of mind at just 10 years of age! In October 2020, your father was driving you home from soccer practice when you were victims of a road-rage incident. Another driver rammed your vehicle repeatedly, pinning it against a tree. Your father told you to run and get help, which you did, running to a nearby business. Your courage in a terrifying situation helped keep your dad safe and ensure that the other driver was arrested on multiple felony charges. Well done!"

FIRST Lego League (FLL)

Several CFSD teams competed at the FIRST Lego League regional tournament, held on Saturday, December 4. The following are the results (teams, awards, team members, and coaches): Tracker Hackers, 1st place tournament champions, Simon Crawford (OG), Audrey Dessent (OG), Matthew Meislin (OG), Warren Moore (OG), Nathan Wu (OG), Aiden Zhou (OG), Nicholas Pickard (EC), and Coach Charlotte Ackerman; Matchmakers, Core Values Award and Robot Performance Award, Owen Cantor-Goldner (EC), Braeden Gracy (OG), Ethan Lin (EC), Sarah Orr (EC), Christian Pierson (EC), Anthony Milo (EC), Juan Esteban Aguirre (OG), and Coach Charlotte Ackerman; The Fraud Squad, Robot Design Award, Tristan Thompson (EC), Roger Wallace (EC), Ben Wild (EC), Basil Wood (EC), Elijah Barbieri (EC), Ali Lucas (OG), Loki Martinez (OG), Jolie Wung (EC), and Coach Charlotte Ackerman; Sunrise Packers, Engineering Excellence Award, SD Students Sophie Barrios, Ella Berger, Katya Berger, Lily Ruiz, Eli Le Peau, Michael Rogers, and Coach Charlotte Ackerman; Boxicles, Innovation Project Award, SD Students Amelia Barnes, Dot Martin, Alejandra Briones Garcia, Westyn Spear, Ben Levin, and Coach Charlotte Ackerman; The Tube-o-Nardo DaVinci's, Rising Star Award, Ventana Vista Students, Luke Bennett, Zeke Bialis, Jacob Colman, Beau Dupont, Ale Goodman, Harrison Hannley, Zak Husain, Mason Kot, Andrew Krokmahi, Lucas Rodriguez, Claire Varden, Mentor Ethan Bialis (EC), and Coaches Noah Mickey-Colman and Jon Bialis. The 8 Great Inspectors - Manzanita Students Lucas Angel, Josh Bowden, Robbie Chasin, Sullivan Cohn, Noah Haubner, Caleb Maness, Severin Nelson, Atticus Zapata, and Coach Kelly Taylor; The Phantom Creators, Canyon View Students Jack Brown, Lillian Crawford, Brandon Duong, Isaac Jorquera, Charlotte Moore, Chase Nabhan, Bodhi Tolle, Ehtan Wang, Caris Wiegand, Lorenzo Williams, and Coach Lynn Pence.

Graphic Design

CFHS advanced graphic design students competed in *Inviemo in the Old Pueblo*, a citywide competition sponsored by the Pima County Superintendent's Office. Two students were recognized in the Winterhaven Logo design category. Idania Santana's logo design was awarded 1st place, and Diana Zarif's design won 3rd place. Their teacher is Kim Gassman.

Cross Country

At the 2021 Interscholastic Association Cross Country State Championship held in Cave Creek on November 13, the CFHS girls and boys teams placed 4th and 5th respectively. Their coaches are Steve Carney and Blake Hinson. Student athletes are: Brandy Alfaro, Riley Becker-Kopke, Casey Berk, Lily Bhola, Braddock Brockschmidt, Bronson Brockschmidt, Madelyn Cosmas, Evangeline Cumming, Tyler DeConcini, Henry Dennis, Hidetoshi Egami, Brayden Fett, Fox Foster, Mason Frydenlund, Carter Hammer, Abigail Hipp, Max Irey, Wyatt Jackson, Loni Jorgensen, Caleb Leonard, Jackson Leonard, Emma Lindsay, Brandon Martz, Taylor McCue, Ryan Menaugh, Ryan Mulholland, Justice Nichols-Gant, Mia Nielsen, Thomas Pershing, Evan Rasoumoff, Christian Rathbun, Natalie Richardson, William Richardson, Justin Roettger, Josefa Romero Jaramillo, Jessica Roudebush, Austin Runkle, Madelyn Sparrow, Cole Warnock, Ian Weaver, Terahnia Williams, Tia Wood, and Samuel Zink.

Recommended Motion: Information Item