

## Catalina Foothills Unified School District #16 2101 E. River Road, Tucson, AZ 85718

(520) 209-7500 (520) 209-7570 FAX

www.cfsd16.org

## **BOARD AGENDA ITEM**

**ITEM NO: 3.4** 

**BOARD MEETING DATE:** Tuesday, December 13, 2022

**OPENING ITEM:** Outstanding Achievements

**SUBMITTED BY:** Mary Kamerzell, Superintendent

PRESENTED BY: Mary Kamerzell, Superintendent

I am pleased to highlight the following CFSD student and staff achievements:

## Athletics Signing Day

These CFHS scholar athletes participated in the November 14 National Signing Day and signed their Letters of Intent to continue to pursue both their academic education and athletics in college.

Matthew Adams - Baseball - Arizona Christian University Mia Cesarek - Golf - Utah Tech University Reilly Clark - Basketball - Northern Arizona University Branden Franz - Baseball - Ottawa University Troy Sanders - Baseball - Grand Canyon University Lauren Sizemore - Softball - Depauw University

## FIRST Lego League (FLL)

This year's FLL challenge is called SUPERPOWERED, where students learn about different types of energy sources, storage, distribution methods, and ways in which energy is consumed.

Community Schools fielded 6 FLL teams that competed at the regional tournament on December 3. Of the 6 invitations to the Arizona State FLL Championship that are given out at the regional tournament, 4 were awarded to teams from CFSD. One of our teams, Grocery Gurus, was named the tournament champion. All 6 of our teams were recognized for notable accomplishments at the tournament.

<u>Grocery Gurus</u> - Tournament champions, 1st place robot performance in competition and in the Fun Run, and advance to state. Team members are Madison Chiem (OG), Audrey Dessent (OG), Braeden Gracy (OG), Warren Moore (OG), Sarah Orr (OG), Ben Wild (EC), and Nathan Wu (OG). Their coaches are Charlotte Ackerman and Mark Haye. Their mentors are Owen Cantor-Goldner, Ethan Lin, and Christian Pierson. Their community mentor is Nancy Wang.

<u>Small Super-Solars</u> - Innovation Project Award Winner and advance to state. Team members are Owen Clark (MZ), Lyra Fuentes (SD), Severin Nelson (MZ), Otis Newheim (MZ), and Jackson Smith (MZ). Their coaches are Kelly Taylor and Sean Taylor. Their mentors are Sa'id Badereen and Spencer Schiller.

<u>Duckbusters</u> - Breakthrough Award and advance to state. Team members are Jacob Colman (EC), Diego Fatas-Belous (SD), Alexander Goodman (VV), Alexis Hammer (SD), John Hanna (SD), Zakariya Husain (VV), Westyn Spear (SD), Brenden Sult (MZ), Claire Varden (VV), and Cillian Walsh (MZ). Their coaches are Noah Mickey-Colman and Charlotte Ackerman. Their community mentors are Mark Haye and Nancy Wang. Their high school mentor is Camila Ruiz.

<u>Rechargeables</u> - Robot Design Award and advance to state. Team members are Esteban Aguirre (OG), Sophia Barrios (OG), Ali Lucas (OG), Matthew Meislin (OG), Lily Ruiz (OG), Jolie Wung (EC), and Aiden Zhou (OG). Their coaches are Charlotte Ackerman and Mark Haye. Their high school mentors are Owen Cantor-Goldner, Ethan Lin, and Christian Pierson. Their community mentor is Nancy Wang.

<u>Pipedreamers</u> - 2nd place robot performance. Team members are Cyrus Candlish (VV), Damon Hayden (SD), Andrew Krokhmal (VV), Benjamin Levin (SD), Josephine Lowrie (SD), Dorothy Martin (SD), Noah Perkins (VV), Michael Stefano (SD), and Lucy Velasco (SD). Their coaches are Noah Mickey-Colman and Charlotte Ackerman. Their high school mentor is Camila Ruiz. Their community mentors are Mark Haye and Nancy Wang.

<u>Watt's Up?</u> - Top 10 robot performance. Team members are Kayla Chang (OG), Ella Halverson (OG), Eli LePeau (OG), Ryker Lyon (OG), Archer Matika (OG), Lucas Rodriguez (EC), and Caitlyn Trail (EC). Their coaches are Charlotte Ackerman and Mark Haye. Their high school mentors are Owen Cantor-Goldner, Ethan Lin, and Christian Pierson. Their community mentor is Nancy Wang.

**Recommended Motion:** Information Item